An interview with Klaus of Ugly Kid Joe

The band played 12 Uk shows in September and I caught up with them ahead of their second show at Manchester’s Soundcontrol, where I had a chat with guitarist - Klaus, before soundcheck.

After a 19-year hiatus, Ugly Kid Joe return with a brand new, full-length album entitled “Uglier Than They Used Ta Be”. The album was recorded at Balance Studios in Covington, Louisiana under the helm of Dave Fortman (Slipknot, Godsmack, Evanescence) and featured a 7-member line up of Ugly Kid Joe – the “Seven Headed Monster”. The chemistry flows so well throughout this new release, it's as though they never left.


‘Uglier Than They Used Ta Be’ boasts a collection of well-crafted rock tunes, from the riff driven ‘Let The Record Play’ to the hard-hitting ‘Hell Aint Hard to Find’. It truly is a collection of some of the best songs ever written by the band which is highlighted with tracks such as ‘Under The Bottom’ and the emotionally driven ‘Enemy’. Whitfield Crane (Vocals) and Klaus Eichstadt (Guitars) teamed up with Sonny Mayo (Guitars), Shannon Larkin (Drums), Zac Morris (Drums), Cordell Crockett (Bass) and Dave Fortman (Guitars) to write and record in the studio. The result is the most cohesive soundingUgly Kid Joe record to date. “It's a full circle of sorts,” says UKJ frontman Whitfield Crane “there was a lot of love and talent in one room and that is exactly what this album sounds like.”


The album also includes a cover of the Motorhead classic “Ace of Spades”, which features Motörhead guitarist Phil Campbell. Phil also appears on the tracks ‘My Old Man’ and ‘Under The Bottom’ “Uglier Than They Used Ta Be” Track Listing Hell Aint Hard To Find Let The Record Play Bad Seed Mirror The Man She's Already Gone Nothing Ever Changes My Old Man Under The Bottom Ace of Spades Enemy Papa Was A Rollin’ Stone

Interview by: Mark Dean